Available in Sage Simply Accounting Premium and higher.

Multi-User Mode

With a multi-user licence, multiple users can work on your company data at the same time, if you have installed Sage Simply Accounting onto your network and you run your company in multi-user mode. The number of users that can connect to your company data at one time depends on the Sage Simply Accounting product you are using and on the number of licences you purchase. Single-user products need to be upgraded to take advantage of multi-user mode.

Setting up Multiple Users

"Sysadmin" is the system administrator profile that is created when you install Sage Simply Accounting. The sysadmin profile has full accounting rights for all of the company records and is able to create, remove, or modify other users.

Before you can begin working in multi-user mode, the sysadmin user needs to:

Create users for the company.

Turn on Automatically Refresh Lists feature.

Working in Multi-user Mode

When you enter transactions in multi-user mode, it is possible for inventory levels to change and for loaded transaction numbers to be used by other users. In these situations, Sage Simply Accounting prompts you to let you know which changes have occurred.

If there are enough users performing similar tasks at the same time, it is possible that transaction messaging might slow down your productivity. You can reduce this messaging by setting Sage Simply Accounting to automatically use the next available transaction number. You can further reduce messaging on a per-user basis by turning off notifications when transaction numbers change. (Enterprise)

Some menus and options are not available in multi-user mode, even if you log on as sysadmin. To perform tasks that are not available in multi-user mode, you need to switch your company back to single-user mode. This protects your data by preventing other users from using the data while it is being updated.

If you start Sage Simply Accounting in single-user mode at any time, other users will be locked out from the data.


If another user makes a change to your company data (such as updating the price of an item) while you are entering a transaction, this change may not be reflected in your transaction. If you know that other users are making changes to the data, it is a good idea to refresh your data before processing a transaction. If you forget to refresh, you will receive a message telling you that the transaction needs to be re-entered using the updated data.

The same user cannot be logged in to your company at more than one location.

What do you want to do?